Due to COVID Alert levels, public meetings will not be able to be held for the Representation Review.

During COVID Alert Levels 3 and 4, if people wish to make a submission over the phone, then please call our friendly customer service team on 03 546 0200.

Every three years elections are held for local authorities. This includes for mayors, councillors and community board members (where a community board has been established). These are often called ‘the triennial local authority elections’.

In order to achieve fair and effective representation at these elections, local authorities are required by the Local Electoral Act 2001 to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years.

Read the intitial media release about the representation review here.

In June and July, we undertook pre-engagement, to understand what people thought about wards and community boards.

Using this public feedback, and taking into account the requirements under the Local Electoral Act 2001, an initial representation proposal was recommended to Council on 12 August 2021.

The report can be found in the meeting agenda here.

The media release following the meeting can be found here.

​Initial proposal for representation arrangements for the 2022 local elections

On 12 August 2021 the Nelson City Council reviewed its representation arrangements, and resolved that the following proposal apply for the Council for the elections to be held on 8 October 2022.

Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise 8 members elected from 2 general wards, 1 member elected from the Māori Ward, 3 members elected at large (by the whole city), and the mayor. The 3 wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

WardCommunities of interest
Central WardComprises the northern, central and eastern parts of the region (and adjacent inlets as well as Waimeas Inlet south of Nelson Airport) encompassing the northern Port Hills, Haulashore Island, Port Nelson, Washington Valley, Victory, Toi Toi, Bishopdale, The Brook, East Nelson, Maitai Valley, the Nelson city centre, The Wood, Brooklands, Atawhai, Dodson Valley, Marybank, Todds Valley, Wakapuaka, Glenduan, Hira, Cable Bay, Lud Valley, Teal Valley, Kokorua and the hills of the Bryant Range bounded by the council boundary.
Stoke-Tahuna WardComprises the southern urban part of the region encompassing Stoke, Monaco, Nelson Airport, Tahunanui, the southern Port Hills, Annesbrook, Wakatu, Enner Glynn, Marsden Valley, Ngawhatu Valley, the Saxton area and the islands southwest of the Airport.
Whakatū WardMāori Ward for those on the Māori electoral roll.

Encompasses the full Nelson City electoral boundary.

Established by resolution 13 May 2021 for the 2022 and 2025 local elections – decision cannot be appealed to Local Government Commission.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 6414 +/- 10% (5773 to 7055), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that no community boards be established.

Further Information

Copies of the Council’s initial proposal and maps setting out the areas of the proposed wards can be viewed under the document library. Copies are also available at:

  • Customer Service Centre, Civic Building, 110 Trafalgar Street, Nelson
  • Nelson City Libraries

  • Any queries regarding the Council’s decision should be directed to

    Devorah Nícuarta-Smith: 03 546 0391 or devorah.nicuartasmith@ncc.govt.nz.